#SELFIE, Forever Ingrained In Culture

Selfie, The Chainsmokers, Selfie Video, Hashtags, Social Media, Culture, Fashion, Style TheBenClark, Instagram, Filters, XXPro, Valencia, Good Selfie, Selfie Video, Pop Culture

To all the homies and the playas in this world who don’t know, the word Selfie is used to describe a self taken picture of yourself to post on social media to show the world what you’re doing at some point in your life for all the world to see. We all do it and Instagram is the prim position to show the world that money maker whether its piled on with makeup and perfected hair or you’re wearing that hideous facial mask that nobody, including yourself, should ever see. A techno group titled The Chainsmokers have taken selfie to the next level and completely saying everything that every girl says when attempting to put up their selfie mixed together with a sick beat. I watched the video for the very first time the other night and when I say it is the perfection of our current social state of mind, it seriously envelopes everything we do and say within the selfie/instagram culture. Everything from “Can you guys help me pick a filter I can’t decide between XXPro and Valencia” and “What should my caption be I want it to be clever, how about livin with my bitches #live”, it seriously gets me every time. I mean the girl talking would definitely be part of The Hills girl club. The video captures the selfie work in all it’s glory from the ridiculous bulging eyes to the sexy kittens and on to the funny selfies, the song is everything that our current culture is about and that is sweet, sweet narcism and an intense need to show the world what the fuck we’re doing, where we’re doing it and who we’re with. I think this is one of the best things to have come out in the last like 2 years and if there is one thing I know and agree with the girl that’s talking in the song, I guess I take a good selfie. Catch the video below and let me know your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

